QUESTIONS? Contact the Division of Public Health’s Coronavirus Call Center at 1-866-408-1899, or 7-1-1 for individuals who are hearing-impaired, from 8:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Saturday and Sunday.  Questions can be sent by email to:

We are providing the following reminders to the public as a result of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic:

  • The City of Newark has enacted an emergency ordinance prohibiting public or private gatherings of more than ten (10) people.  Please note – this number differs from the Governor’s order prohibiting groups of fifty (50) or more.  Additionally, on 03/22/20, the Governor issued the fifth modification to the State of Emergency declaration, which stated: “Delawareans should refrain from organizing or attending social gatherings of any size, except for regular interactions with immediate family members, members of the same household, caregivers, or individuals with whom you have a close personal relationship.”
  • Effective 03/24/2020 at 8:00 am EDT:
    • The Governor has ordered all non-essential businesses to close.  The specifics of the order can be found here.
      • A list of essential and non-essential businesses can be found here.
      • Resources for businesses can be found here and answers to frequently asked questions can be found here and here.
      • The Governor has enacted a stay-at-home order, with certain exceptions.  The specifics of the order can be found here.
  • Effective 03/30/2020 at 8:00 am EDT:
    • The Governor has ordered that any individual who enters Delaware from another state, and who is not merely passing through, must immediately self-quarantine for fourteen (14) days from the time of entry into Delaware or for the duration of the individual’s presence in Delaware, whichever period is shorter.  There are certain exceptions.  The specifics of the order can be found here.
  • The Newark Police Department appreciates your compliance with these emergency orders.  However, a violation of these orders is a criminal offense punishable by a fine and/or imprisonment up to 6 months.

Changes at the Newark Police Department:

  • The Records Division is closed to the walk-in public. Requests for copies of police reports and other information should be made in writing or by telephone. The Records Division will be available by telephone Monday through Friday from 9:00 am until 2:30 pm at (302) 366-7100 option 3. All payments must be made by check or money order sent via mail or can be placed into the payment dropbox in the Municipal Building lobby.
    • The form for requesting a copy of a police report can be found here.
  • When possible, police dispatchers have been instructed to ask callers about their potential exposure to the virus and whether they are experiencing any symptoms
  • Certain calls that are not in-progress, such as minor thefts, fraud, etc., may be handled by a police officer via telephone as opposed to in-person.
  • Anyone who walks into the police lobby for police assistance will still be able to contact a police officer at all times of the day.

Additional Resources:

Governor’s State of Emergency Orders:

  • Original Order – March 12, 2020 – Enacting a State of Emergency
  • First Modification – March 16, 2020 – Limits public gatherings to no more than 50 people and requires restaurants to be take-out/drive through only. 
  • Second Modification – March 18, 2020 – Closes bowling alleys, movie theaters, sports facilities and fitness centers; Allows sale of alcohol.
  • Third Modification – March 21, 2020 – Closes beaches.
  • Fourth Modification – March 22, 2020 – Closes all non-essential businesses.
  • Fifth Modification – March 22, 2020 – Orders all residents to shelter-in-place and prohibits travel except for essential activities.
  • Sixth Modification – March 24, 2020 – Changes election dates; Prohibits evictions & foreclosures; Prohibits utilities from terminating service and prohibits termination of insurance policies.
  • Seventh Modification – March 29, 2020 – Requires self-quarantine of fourteen (14) days for those who enter Delaware from another state with certain exceptions.