Newark Police to Participate in the 16th National Take-Back Initiative

On Saturday, October 27, 2018, Newark Police will participate in the Drug Enforcement Administration’s National Prescription Drug Take Back Day initiative.  Between the hours of 10:00am and 2:00pm, members of the public may surrender expired, unwanted, or unused pharmaceutical controlled substances and other medications to law enforcement officers for destruction.  The event will occur in the Newark Police Department lobby located at 220 South Main Street, Newark.

The National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day aims to provide a safe, convenient, and responsible means of disposal, while also educating the general public about the potential for abuse of these medications.  This one-day effort will bring national focus to the issue of pharmaceutical controlled substance abuse.

According to the DEA:

  • Unused or expired prescription medications are a public safety issue, leading to accidental poisoning, overdose, and abuse.
  • Pharmaceutical drugs can be just as dangerous as street drugs when taken without a prescription or a doctor’s supervision.
  • The non-medical use of prescription drugs ranks second only to marijuana as the most common form of drug abuse in America.
  • The majority of teenagers abusing prescription drugs get them from family and friends —and the home medicine cabinet.
  • Unused prescription drugs thrown in the trash can be retrieved and abused or illegally sold. Unused drugs that are flushed contaminate the water supply. Proper disposal of unused drugs saves lives and protects the environment.

The program is anonymous and members of the public surrendering substances will  not be asked for their name.  During the event, controlled, non-controlled, and over the counter medications will be collected.  In addition, liquid products and creams in their containers will also be accepted.  Sharps and syringes will NOT be accepted due to the  potential hazards posed by blood-borne pathogens.

For further information, visit


100 Persons Arrested at Large Party in Newark

On October 20, 2018, Newark Police charged 100 people with Underage Consumption of Alcohol following a report of a disorderly party in the 300 block of East Park Place in Newark.

At about 3:09 pm, Newark Police received a complaint of a disorderly party in the area of East Park Place and Ashley Road.  Officers determined that alcohol was being provided to persons under the age of 21 who were attending the party.  There were about 50 subjects gathered in the rear of the residence and some of these subjects were entering into the rear yard of a neighbor’s residence.  The neighbor did not give them permission to be in the yard.

Based upon this information, Newark Police obtained a search warrant for the residence on East Park Place.  Upon execution of the search warrant by Newark officers, with the assistance of Delaware Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement, University of Delaware Police and New Castle County Police, more than 170 people were found to be in the backyard of the residence.

Officers issued 100 criminal summonses for Underage Consumption of Alcohol to those who had been drinking alcohol and were not 21 years of age.  Those subjects who were 21 years of age were released without charges.  The majority of the subjects arrested were University of Delaware students.  Police also contacted several juveniles at the party, of which two were charged with Underage Consumption of Alcohol.  Both were released to a parent.

All of the arrested subjects were released at the scene to appear in court at a later date.

Charges against the three hosts of the party, who are all University of Delaware students, are pending.

Under Newark City Ordinance 19-5:
“Whoever being under the age of 21 years has alcoholic liquor in his possession at any time or consumes or is found to have consumed alcoholic liquors shall be fined not less than $200.00 and have his State of Delaware driver’s license revoked for a period of 30 days for the first offense, and not less than 90 days, nor more than 180 days, for each subsequent offense. If the underage person does not have a State of Delaware driver’s license, that person shall be fined not less than $250.00 for the first offense, and not less than $300.00, nor more than $500.00, for each subsequent offense.”